WLMA Boat Rules
(Excerpt from WLMA Rules & Regs)
- No boat that exceeds eighteen feet (18′ 0″) in overall length or exceeds eight feet six, inches (8′ 6″) in maximum beam, may be on the Lake. Exceptions are: (a) Work boats of WLMA and of WLMA authorized work contractors, and (b) rowing shells which may exceed the eighteen foot (18′ 0″) limitation at the written approval of WLMA. Prohibited completely from the Lake are multi-hulled sailboats, inflatable boats or rafts, wind-surfers, surfboards, jet-skis, motor surfers, standup paddleboards and water skiers. Any such illegal category of watercraft or activity on the Lake will be considered an immediate safety hazard under the Rules.
- All power boats must be electrically propelled except for those used by WLMA, any approved boat service concessionaire licensed by WLMA, and the Westlake Yacht Club patrol boat involved with regattas and other sailing activities.
BOAT SAFETY AND SECURITY
- Federal and State law requires boat users to follow the “Rules of the Road” under the Inland Navigation Rules Act. Boaters at Westlake are primarily governed operationally by the California Harbors and Navigation Code and related Vehicle Code. WLMA further emphasizes and directs boaters to be familiar with the package of information titled: “Important Reminder for Electric and Sail Boaters” (Attachment 1). WLMA is not a government agency and exercises control in matters of safety and reasonable use of Westlake Lake only under its corporate jurisdiction.
- When loaded, boats must be maintained in balanced condition to avoid capsizing. Boats may not be loaded beyond the manufacturer’s recommended capacity.
- All equipment used on any boat shall conform to California State Boating Laws and, among other items, each operating boat shall carry a Coast Guard-approved life jacket (personal floatation device type I, II, III, or V) for each person on board and additionally, as to boats over 16′, one throw able flotation device (type IV).
- It is recommended that all children and non-swimmers while under way, and children under seven years of age while on docks or boats moored to docks, wear a Coast Guard-approved life jacket. Under California law, children under 12 years of age on board a boat operating under 26 feet in length shall wear a Coast Guard-approved life jacket type I, II, or III; failure to wear is an infraction under such State law with the responsible person(s) subject to a governmental fine.
- Any person under the age of fourteen (14) operating a powerboat on the Lake must be accompanied in the boat by a parent or other responsible adult in the boat.
- No boating activities, nor activities on docks, are permitted earlier than 1 hour before sunrise or later than 11:00 p.m. except in an emergency or for return to home dock. (See 26 below)
- All low profile boats and other watercraft, including but not limited to all kayaks, skulls, pedal boats, sail boats, fishing boats, etc., with or without running lights, and/or, with or without power, are not permitted on the Lake one hour after sunset to one hour before sunrise. All other single hull boats, and party boats, are permitted on the Lake between sunset and 11:00 p.m. (see 25 above), however, they must be equipped with fixed running lights (not clamp ons, flash lights, lanterns, candles etc,) and they must have their fixed running lights turned on and showing between sunset and sunrise and during restricted visibility. Docking lights are used for docking purposes only.
- No boat shall exceed five (5) miles per hour except patrol boats on emergency calls. The speed limit in finger basins is three (3) miles per hour.